Mechanical Engineer, Lecturer, IPS, IAS, MLA, MP, Chief Minister: Ajit Jogi

Brief life introduction of a great leader of Chhattisgarh Ajit Jogi Ji.

  • Name – Ajit Pramod Kumar Jogi, Date of Birth – 29 Apr 1946, Place of Birth – Bilaspur Chhattisgarh.
  • History – Born in an ordinary family, Ajit Jogi was rich in versatility since childhood, Jogi, who topped the studies, was also called Lal of Gudri.
  • In 1968, he completed a Mechanical Engineering degree from Maulana Azad College of Technology, Bhopal with a gold medal. During his college days, Jogi has also been elected the President of the Students Union.
  • He also worked as a lecturer (1967-68) at Government Engineering College, Raipur (Chhattisgarh) in 1967.
  • In 1974 Ajit Jogi was elected to the Indian Police Service and the Indian Administrative Service.
  • For 12 years, Jogi set the record of longest-serving Collector / District Magistrate in Sidhi, Shahdol, Raipur and Indore districts of Madhya Pradesh from 1974 to 1986.
  • Political Events In 1986, Ajit Jogi started his political career by becoming a member of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) on the welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes. After this, the Congress nominated him in the Rajya Sabha.
  • Ajit Jogi was also appointed as General-Secretary, Pradesh Congress Committee, Madhya Pradesh in 1987. Not only this, but he was also made part of the Committee of Public Enterprises, Industries Committee, Railways, Chairman, State Scheduled Tribes and Scheduled Tribes (Madhya Pradesh) Committee.
  • During the Lok Sabha elections of Manipur State in 1989, Jogi was assigned the job of a central observer by Congress. Jogi, working in the 1500 km tribal area of ​​Madhya Pradesh, spread public awareness among them and mobilized them in support of the Congress party.
  • In 1995, Jogi was also given the charge of Chairman of Committee on Science and Technology and Committee on Environment and Forests.
  • After the core group and parliamentary elections (Lok Sabha) in 1996, Jogi became a member of the Executive Committee in Parliament.
  • In 1997, he was appointed as the observer of the Delhi State Congress Committee elections. Apart from this, Member of the Committee on Transport and Tourism, Member Committee on Rural and Urban Development, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Coal, Public Accounts Committee, Convenor, Sub-Committee, Advisory Committee. Not only this, but Jogi has also become a member of the panel of Deputy Speaker of Rajya Sabha. Meanwhile, from 1997 to 1999, he served as Chief Spokesperson, Congress Parliamentary Party as well as Chief Spokesperson of AICC.
  • In 1998, Jogi was elected to the 12th Lok Sabha from Raigarh constituency of Chhattisgarh.
  • In 1999, he led a Jatra from Maa Danteshwari Temple in Dantewada to Mahamaya Temple in Ambikapur to spread awareness for the state of Chhattisgarh.
  • He was sworn in as the first Chief Minister of the Chhattisgarh in November 2000. He also led the Vikas Yatra in 2003 in Chhattisgarh.
  • In 2004, he was elected to the 14th Lok Sabha as an MP for Mahasamund, Chhattisgarh.
  • Jogi was elected as a member of the Legislative Assembly of Chhattisgarh in 2008, representing the Marwahi constituency.
  • After being elected to the Lok Sabha elections in 2009, Jogi served as the Mahasamund constituency of Lok Sabha member Chhattisgarh.
  • In 2014 Mahasamund failed to retain his seat in the Lok Sabha elections and lost to BJP’s Chandu Lal Sahu by 133 votes.
  • In June 2016, Ajit Jogi established a new political organization called Chhattisgarh Janata Congress.
  • In 2018 Ajit Jogi announced that he would contest the assembly elections from Rajnandgaon and Marwahi seats. This means that he will directly challenge Dr. Raman Singh but he contested from Marwahi and was elected and became a member of the Legislative Assembly.
  • He was admitted to Narayana Ashtapal in Raipur after a heart attack on 09 May at 12:10 pm, died on 29 May 20 days later at 3:30 pm.

Related Articles

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!